Author   Comment  
QFieldBoden

Development Team Member
Hi

I'm new to the forum and am considering whether this technology is a route I would like to go down. I am a UK based cycling coach with a particular interest in power based training and it's application particularly in endurance events, up to and including 24hr TT races.

I have a couple of questions.

1. Have the SmO2 readings generated by the Moxy Monitor been independently validated against the more traditional laboratory based measurement methods and if so where has this been written up/published. I'm keen to make sure that the numbers popping out of the unit are accurate, reliable, meaningful, consistent and have been independently verified.
  2. Is there a clear explanation somewhere that I can read which clarifies, for a non scientist, why the SmO2 figures fall when the load (and therefore oxygen demand) is rising. I'm thinking as a cyclist where the graphs show SmO2 rising initially as demand (wattage) rises which makes sense but I'm not clear why SmO2 falls later in the tests when wattage and therefore oxygen demand is still rising. Instinctively I'd have expected SmO2 to rise up to it's maximum and then stay there until such time as the oxygen demand (wattage) fell back again.
Many thanks.

Q
Roger

Hello Q,

1) Here is a forum thread that discusses the problem of NIRS validation a little bit.  http://forum.moxymonitor.com/post/nirs-moxy-validation-6433145

We are also working with a university to do some comparison measurements with other NIRS devices but that won't really solve the problem of validation.

2) Some of our physiology people might jump in more on this question, but for starters, check out the "What Moxy Measures" section of "Introduction to Muscle Oxygen Monitoring with Moxy" eBook.

That can be downloaded from our Resources Page.