Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
awatson

Development Team Member
I'll start this off with the background that I'm an athlete who trained with power for years but now a coach looking to learn how I can use this in my practice with athletes and am fully committed to being a guinea pig so to speak if it can help my athletes in the future. BUT don't have a background in physiology so i'm a newbie to some of this. 

Wouldn't mind some feedback on this workout. Following along with the Training guide for cycling PDF, after doing a couple ramp tests and a 5-1-5 it look like I currently have a delivery limiter. Hitting downwards of 20%. 

So I set out to use the Gradual desaturation WO protocol. I had a vague idea of where to ride power wise to achieve this and the first effort went well. The "compete rest" is VERY foreign to me and I knew it would be difficult to re-start and not feel like a sack of hammers. 

2nd effort went OK, desaturated very quickly and my power was lower, the recovery on this one took much longer for my peak Smo2 to begin to come back down(within 2%, it kept bouncing) and it didn't hit the same peak.

Attempted a 3rd but the legs felt like sacks of hammers desaturated to 40% very quickly and power was very low. I stopped this effort as I just felt there was no quality in it. (old bias perhaps) 

After a break and some steady riding, I did two more "max aerobic" intervals at a close Wattage range for 6 min each. This is based on using the new WKO4 optimized interval modeling chart released this week. (yes 6 minutes seems long for MAP but again im a guinea pig and thats what is saying) 

my questions are:
1) is active recovery a deal breaker for this workout? 
2) Should I be holding a steady Wattage (like my last two) or ramp and adjust to and ignore absolute w number? like my attempted first 3?