I've been going through old forum posts and
a notion of muscle coordination comes
up fairly frequently.

My understanding is that in order to perform some
movement we have to engage one or more muscles
and coordinate between them.

If there's many muscles involved we have intermuscular
coordination where we may manipulate how much each muscle
to perform the same movement. Is that correct?

Questions:
1. What is intramuscular coordination then? Is there a simple
example of it in running, for example?

2. What is the main physiological benefit of muscle coordination?
Thinking naively, I would think that you always want to use your
strongest muscles to perform some movement as opposed to
engaging other, possibly weaker, muscles.

ryinc

Development Team Member
Hi Runner

I am no expert, but my understanding is that intra-muscular co-ordination refers to the co-ordination within the muscle i.e. the co-ordination of the different muscle fibers within a muscle. Where everything within the muscle is co-ordinated, the muscle will be more efficient and produce a better output than what it could without co-ordination. So in your running stride you might want your VL muscle to be co-ordinated as possible.

Inter-muscular co-ordination refers to the co-ordination across different muscles. Again better co-ordination allows a higher overall result, but also prevents one muscle from tiring unnecessarily. So in your running stride you want all the leg muscles to be co-ordinated, and the muscles used in landing would be different to the muscles used in the jump part of the stride.

If i could use an analogy of a corporate company. Intramuscular co-ordination would be like all the workers within a department. Different workers have different skills and some may be better than others but you want them to work together to maximise output for the department.