Author   Comment  
thigger

Development Team Member
20151113 moxy 515.png Hi,

Just starting with the Moxy - I've bought it for use myself and with members of my training group. I'm an intensive care physician with a background in physiology so reasonably happy with the concepts around Moxy.

I've just tried a 5-1-5 on myself, steps at 45%/65%/85%/105%/130% (I've just realised that it should have been 125%!). It's a cold day (hailing outside my garage) so I wasn't surprised that it seemed to take a while for me to warm up, but I was surprised that on my first 'recovery level' interval the SmO2 plummeted and never really got back above 35%. This continued, with me finishing my 85% intervals with single digit SmO2 - and the 105% ones being in single digits almost the whole way! The 130% one I probably could have continued for longer, but let myself give up after a minute as I knew there was no way I'd manage 5.

I probably wasn't in the best shape for an assessment today; a bit dehydrated after a rich meal and some wine (not a lot!) last night - and kids keeping me up in the night - but the intervals didn't seem that hard. Any ideas why the SmO2 is so low? I also can't quite understand the pattern of tHb in the recovery minutes - I was sat with my pedal at 6 o'clock (Moxy on VL) - was I tensing my leg too much? It's a tri-bike so difficult to keep all your weight on the saddle.

Any advice/help with interpretation greatly appreciated. One of my training partners has agreed to be my next guinea-pig so I'm going to see how his assessment differs from mine, and I'll probably do another myself to try to work out why this one seems so odd. Or do I have some strange limiter? (delivery by the looks of it?)

Thanks

Attached Files
csv 20151113_moxy_tl515.csv (61.78 KB, 16 views)
csv Tom_-_R01_-_Moxy_5-1-5_-_2015-11-13-02-37-47.3dp.csv (202.32 KB, 15 views)

thigger

Development Team Member