Author   Comment  
Gunnar

Development Team Member
Hi all,

I have been enjoying the discussions here on the forum for a few days now and have read and learned some new things through it. Very interesting!

I am completely new to the topic of Moxy. I have one unit myself and am using it on every training to learn about how it works and what responses I can expect out of my training.

Now to my question: is there any information about the effectiveness of using the information out of the Moxy measurement to reaching ones training goals.
To be more specific: if I would like to get the best possible time on a bike race over 100 km. Would I get better results using these theories or by using normal training theories using FTP and so on?
Would be thankful if someone could direct me to studies regarding this.
sebo2000

Development Team Member

It is complex question kind of 30000ft question.

I would start with counter question to stimulate discussion: what it takes to win the race? What kind of race is it, road, MTB, TT? Also what does it mean "the best time" 

I’m 100% positive if used properly, Moxy will allow you to get 100% from your body, without running risk of overloading/underperforming, you will get “the best” performance out of your “engine” on a given day.

Will that allows you to get “best” possible time? I’m not sure, since there are other factors as well to get better time: bike, wheels, clothing, helmet, nutrition, hydration, stress, weather.

For given day considering the rest is constant (but it is not) using Moxy properly you have much better chance on getting perfect (not the best overal) time, than randomly looking at pretty much random power zone system. That means you could be recovered better in 2 weeks and you could get even better time using Moxy.

Since you use Moxy you will understand next section easier:

Let’s take simple power zoning under consideration. Z2 starts at 56% of FTP, in Moxy world it would be ARI zone.