Register Latest Topics

Author   Comment   Page 1 of 2      1   2   Next
Dr Matt

Development Team Member

Apologies for long post.

Wondering if the brains trust can critique my reading of Moxy data. Im a Mechanical Engineer so the inner working of the body is not my area of expertise, but I have spent a while reading this forum and trying to understand and I think my results indicate the following is going on

• Well developed mitochondria concentration in quad muscles from years of racing and interval training leading to….
  • Restricted blood flow to quad muscle by crushing the blood supply leading to…
  • Drop in SMo2 as quad utilize all available oxygen from available blood flow, SMo2 dropping well below 30% leading to…..
  • Increase in H+ and Co2 leading to…..
  • The need to increase breathing rate trying to expel Co2 leading to….
  • Blood flow diversion from upper body to lower body more and more to diaphragm as load increases (respiratory metaboreflex) leading to….
  • Respiratory muscle fatigue from working harder leading to….
  • A further drop in available blood to working muscles leading to…
  • A downward spiral and ultimate failure – RIP.

If that is correct data interpretation then the solution is to improve respiratory endurance (buy a Spirotiger) and increase my heart stroke volume if possible by doing the work out noted a number of times on this site (ride at a power level just below the point where the non involved muscle ThB starts to drop). Is that a correct interpretation of the data or have I missed the mark? 

Thanks for reading, more detailed information below.