Register Latest Topics

Author   Comment  
jeffwink

Development Team Member
Hello All,

I am new to Moxy/NIRS but am an experienced cycling coach and former professional athlete. I have had multiple conversations with a coach colleague who has been a long-time Moxy user. I have a single sensor that I've been using to get a sense of the possibilities. I have read through much of the forum trying to learn what can be achieved with this device. Several thoughts and questions have arisen:

1.  How to set the starting load (watts)

Is this a trial and error process? Obviously, one needs to have the initial steps be low enough to show an upward response from SmO2 during that step. Many of us have experience with using power to estimate FTP and other FTP-derived zones. Even though the goal of using the Moxy for zone setting is to move away from the FTP derived zones, would they provide a reasonable starting point?

2.  How to set the increment

It seems there is a conflict here. On the one hand, the smaller the steps the more likely you are to identify the load associated with a change to the next zone. However, making the steps small leads to an extended test that may introduce failure or measurement effects that are related to duration as much as intensity.

3.  Standards for interpreting the SmO2 curves

Are there any objective standards for what constitutes 1) an "upward curve" corresponding to ARI, 2) "flat curves" corresponding to STEI and FEI, and finally 3) the "clear and continuous decrease" associated with HI.

And related to that, are there any "best practices" for filtering or smoothing the data prior to interpretation?

4. Distinguishing between STEI and FEI

If you have more than 2 pairs of steps with decreasing but "plateaued" SmO2 data, where do you draw the line between the 2 endurance zones.